Tonic Studios Patterns and Prints Blog Hop

Tonic Studios Patterns and Prints Blog Hop

Hello friends!! I’m so so SO excited to be joining an epic blog hop for Tonic Studios new Patterns and Prints release!! The mega-talented Maria Willis designed an incredible set of stamps and dies specifically designed for mixed media creations!

Now I don’t really think of myself as a mixed media type of cardmaker even though I am a bit experimental and love abstract patterns and backgrounds, so I was a bit nervous when Maria asked me to join the hop. But once I saw how gorgeous and innovative the stamps and dies were I couldn’t wait to play!! In fact I have three cards to share today!!

To create this first card I started by ink blending an A2 panel of Bristol paper with several Distress Oxides (Picked Raspberry, Candied Apple, Fossilized Amber, Mermaid Lagoon, Blueprint Sketch, & Seedless Preserves). After I ink blended I then ink smooshed with the same colors one by one over the panel being sure to dry the panel between each color.

I then stamped the background with the grid stamp several times in the same distress oxide colors and then spritz the stamp with water and stamp it over the panel as well. Next, I dried the panel completely and then stamped and white heat embossed some of the water ring stamps over the panel. I then finished the background by splattering black Gansai Tambi watercolor over the panel.

I then die cut “HELLO” out of black cardstock and trimmed it down to a stripe. Next, I die cut the “friend” detail and shadow layers out of black and white cardstock and adhered the two together. Lastly, I finished the card by adhering the panel to an A2 top-folding white card base and then adhered my sentiments with foam adhesive.

For my second card, I first ink smooshed several Distress Oxides (Picked Raspberry, Candied Apple, Fossilized Amber, Mermaid Lagoon, Blueprint Sketch, & Seedless Preserves) one by one onto an A2 panel of Bristol paper, drying between each color so the colors wouldn’t mix too much. I then spritzed the book page stamp and then stamped it over the panel. When the panel had dried I then stamped the small x’s stamp over the card front in the same Distress Oxide colors and adhered the panel onto an A2 top-folding white card base.

Next I die cut the hexagon die out of white cardstock several times, lining up the die each time with the previous cut just but in a different spot to create a large continuous section of the hexagon pattern. I then trimmed the hexagon pattern away from the rest of the cardstock and then adhered sections to the card front.

Next I created my sentiment by die cutting the “YOU’RE” and the “T” out of black cardstock and then grabbed the “H” and “E” from the “HELLO” I die cut out from the first card. I then die cut the detail and shadow layers for the “best” out of white and black cardstock and then adhered the two together. Lastly I finished the card by adhering the sentiment to the card front with foam adhesive and the splattered black paint over the card front.

For my last card, I tried something a bit different. I first ink smooshed an A2 panel of Bristol paper with Fossilized Amber, Picked Raspberry, and Mermaid Lagoon Distress Oxides. After I had throughly dried the panel with my heat tool I then stamped several stamps from the set over the panel and then heat embossed in clear embossing powder, trapping the ink underneath. I then ink smooshed another layer over the panel with several more Distress Oxides (Blueprint Sketch, Seedless Preserves, Candied Apple, Mermaid Lagoon, Picked Raspberry, Twisted Citron, and Fossilized Amber. I then trimmed down the panel and adhered it to the front of an A2 top-folding white card base.

Next, I die cut the grid out of heavy weight white cardstock and then heat embossed the die cut in gold embossing powder. I then cut the grid in half and adhered the two sections to the card front. Next, I created my sentiment by first die cutting “YOU’RE” out of white cardstock, trimming it down to a strip and then gold embossed the tips.

I then die cut the detail and shadow layers of the “amazing” die out of white and vellum cardstock and adhered the layers together. Next I die cut 3 more detail layer “amazing’s” out of white cardstock, adhered them together, and then adhered them behind the vellum and cardstock one. Lastly I finished the card by adhered the “YOU’RE” to the card front with foam adhesive and the “amazing” with liquid glue.

GIVEAWAY #1:

One lucky winner will win a £50/$50 Giftcard to Tonic Studios and the Patterns & Prints bundle! To enter comment on every blog in the hop by 11:59pm PST on August 4, 2021/ 7:59am GST on August 5, 2021. Winner will be announced on August 6th, 2021 on IG and FB so make sure you’re following all of the Tonic Studios social media accounts!

GIVEAWAY #2:

Every purchase of the Patterns & Prints Bundle will also receive a free gift from Tonic Studios automatically included in their purchase. Free gift is the small Happy Birthday stamp set.

BLOG HOP:

Maria Willis

Ilda Dias

Jen Kray

Debi Adams

Kulbir Kirkland

Amber Rain Davis

Jannette Simmons

Erica Andersson Burke

Channin Pelletier <<<< You are here >>>>

Sandi MacIver

I hope you enjoyed my cards! Thank you so much for stopping by!

~Channin

Supplies:

21 thoughts on “Tonic Studios Patterns and Prints Blog Hop

  1. I had exactly the same fear as you did about this set, not being super confident with the level of mixed media I thought was needed for it. But girl, I LOVE your cards!!

  2. Great cards! I also love abstract backgrounds and designs but never make my own. Seeing your designs gives me some good ideas to start with.

  3. I had zero doubts that your dive into mixed media would be absolutely freaking phenomenal and I was right! These are amazing Channin!
    Maria

  4. I love how you combined different elements from this release to make such fabulous cards. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. Wine you can do anything! Sorry I dont think of you as mixed media and poof you come out the gate with gorgeous incredible beautiful cards. I love this print and patterns kit and hope to try doing something a little messy. Awesome cards! Those coffee spills are gorgeous and the grid, love it!

Leave a comment