United As One Hero Arts Release and Blog Hop

United As One Hero Arts Release and Blog Hop

Hello friends!! I’m so honored to be joining today’s blog hop celebrating the release of Hero Arts’ collaborative stamp set, United as One, and the Stamping Village’s We Stand With You stamp set!

Unity_IG

I love love the message of unity, respect, and optimism of these two sets. Personally I can no longer sit back and allow systemic racism to go unchecked. Too long have communities of color been traumatized and marginalized by institutionalized discrimination. As a fairly private and introverted person being open about my feelings and beliefs is not a very comfortable position but I have to do better, I have to BE better. I am making changes within myself, my family, and my community to become a better advocate for my black neighbors. And I am so happy to see several stamp companies taking a stand and making changes towards more diversity and inclusion.

The card I have to share today was created with the United as One stamp set. I created a colorful card front and then added a window which opens up to reveal the rest of the sentiment.

IMG_7470

To create this card I first stamped the rainbow background with the Abstract Fields Bold Prints cling stamp. I first positioned the stamp in my MISTI and then ink up the corner with Fruit Punch Reactive Ink and then stamped the front of an A2 card front.

IMG_7471

I then cleaned the stamped and ink up with Creamsicle Reactive Ink just adjacent where to where the Fruit Punch was and then stamped. I then repeated this process for all the other ink colors (Lemon Drop, Key Lime Fizz, Pool Party, Blue Hawaii).

IMG_7473

Once I finished the stamping the background I then stamped and black heat-embossed the large heart from the United as One stamp set. I then cut out the interior of the heart with a craft knife and then traced the opening onto a 4 3/16″ x 5 1/2″ panel of white cardstock. I then cut out the interior of the heart and then stamped and black heat-embossed the heart on the backside, framing the opening. Next, with a black copic I colored in the interior edge of both heart openings. I then stamped a sentiment in black Stazon onto acetate. I then adhered the acetate to the backside of the card front and then adhered the panel to the back of the acetate.

IMG_7472

Next, I stamped the inside of the card with the outline of the hands and several sentiments in INTENS-ified Black Ink. I then stamped the one hand in Pumpkin Pie and then Cup O’Joe and the other in Soft Vanilla and Soft Brown.

BLOG HOP:

Hero Arts – Daniel

Dana Joy

Pocono Pam

Channin Pelletier <<<You are here>>>

Daniel West

Debi Adams

Ilina Crouse

Janette Kausen

Jennifer McGuire

Libby Hickson

Michelle Short

Thank you so much for joining me today!! I hope you have a wonderful day!

~Channin

 

 

17 thoughts on “United As One Hero Arts Release and Blog Hop

  1. Ooooo, Love your rainbow background! It did occur to me this set will be great for Pride cards as well! I love how you made your card with the acetate/whatever window and the sentiment inside!

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings. Wonderful cards, a tribute to Dana, Pam, Hero Arts and all of the craft community who are setting examples for the rest of the world. Beautiful cards.

  3. Channin, beautiful card, I love all the bright colors. It’s so nice that the community of stampers come together and represent people of color.

  4. Love the window idea and the rainbow colours matched with that texture. Very cool. So that it can double as the cover and the inside message.

  5. Love these beautiful card examples and this most wonderful stamp set. The inside sentiment, When you win… is so deeply meaningful to me. I know I will use that one very often.
    Can’t wait to receive my stamp set and start creating.

Leave a comment