February My Monthly Hero

February My Monthly Hero

Hello friends!! It’s time for Hero Arts‘ My Monthly Hero Release!! Yahoo!! Let me tell you, Hero has done it again!! This month’s kit is incredible!!

This month’s birthday theme is on point!! The main kit comes with many perfectly party themed products including some fun stamps and dies but also confetti and even frosting (colored lacquer)!!

MH0220

The first card I’m sharing is a no-line watercoloring card created with the stamps and dies included in the main kit.

HA202002-MMHKit-Channin1

First, I stamped the background stamp in Soft Vanilla Shadow Ink on an A2 panel of Bristol paper. I then colored the images in with Tombow Dual Brush Pens. Once I finished coloring the images I then stamped the cake on a scrap of Bristol paper in Soft Vanilla and then watercolored it in with my Tombows as well. After I colored the cake I then die cut it out with the matching dies.

HA202002-MMHKit-Channin2

Next, I stamped and gold heat embossed a sentiment onto the panel. I then stamped the sentiment again but this time slightly off-set in the Soft Vanilla to create a shadow to help  the sentiment pop. I then trimmed the panel down an 1/8″ on all the sides and then adhered the panel onto Peony cardstock. I then finished the card by die cutting another cake out and then adhering that unstamped cake behind the stamped and colored cake and then adhering both onto the card front.

My next couple of cards feature some of the incredible add-ons in this release!

IMG_4832

For this first card, I first stamped the background garland using the Festive Balloon Stamp Set in a rainbow of reactive ink colors (Taffy, Fruit Punch, Creamsicle, Lemon Drop, Key Lime Fizz, Pool Party, and Blue Hawaii) on Dove White Cardstock.

IMG_4829

Once I stamped the background then trimmed it down to a square (3 7/8″ x 3 7/8″). Next, I stamped and copic colored some images from the Time For Cake Stamp Set in Intens-ified Black Ink on Dove White cardstock. Once I finished coloring the images I then die cut them out with the matching dies.

IMG_4844

Next, I adhered the square background panel onto a square card base (4 3/4″ x 9 1/2″, scored at 4 3/4″) made from Dove White cardstock with foam tape. I then finished the card by adhering the copic colored images with foam tape.

IMG_4830

For my last card I first die cut seven balloons out of Dove White cardstock using the Festive Balloon Frame Cuts. I then ink blended each balloon with a different reactive ink (Taffy, Fruit Punch, Creamsicle, Lemon Drop, Key Lime Fizz, Pool Party, and Blue Hawaii).

IMG_4831

Next, I then throughly dried my red balloon with my heat tool and then stamped and white heat embossed a sentiment. I then stamped the sentiment again but this time off-set in Soft Granite Shadow Ink. I then smooshed the embossing ink pad over each balloon and then clear heat embossed them all. I then stamped the balloon strings in Soft Granite on a white panel (4″ x 5 1/4″) and then adhered the panel onto an A2 top-fold white card base. Lastly I finished the card by adhering all the balloons with foam tape.

And that’s it!! I hope enjoyed my cards and found some inspiration! 🙂

~Channin

Blog Hop:

Hero Arts

Amy Kolling

Caly Person

Channin Pelletier <<< You are here >>>

Chari Moss

Daniel West

Debi Adams

Emily Midgett

Ilina Crouse

Janette Kausen

Jessica Frost-Ballas

Laurie Willison

Libby Hickson

Lydia Fiedler

Maria Willis

Michelle Short

Nichol Spohr

Seeka

Supplies:


77 thoughts on “February My Monthly Hero

  1. These birthday stamps and dies are super cute! I love the possibilities with them. Your colors and shading really make them pop!

  2. Your first card is so soft and lovely, but I also love how bright and cheery your balloons and garland are! I am definitely inspired!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. Love this! The no line watercolouring looks amazing and the slightly off stamped sentiment is beautiful! Gives the sentiment more dimension!
    Also the colours on the other two cards is stunning! So vibrant 😍 and the texture on the baloons… So much to see!
    Thank you so much for the amazing inspiration ❤️

  4. Channin that watercolour card is just gorgeous!!…Thanks for reminding me about the shadow stamping. I saw it years ago but had completely forgotten about it!!

  5. Your cards are all lovely and so festive. It’s amazing the different looks one can get with that background stamp. The coloring on the balloons is wonderful. Thanks for including the great details.

  6. Wow, Channin, your cards are amazing! I’m in awe of your delicate no-line colouring on the first and the bright, happy colours on the other 2! Thanks so much for sharing your great work!

  7. I really like all the soft spring-like colors you used to color the background stamp from the kit. Such a beautiful card.

  8. The images in this kit are so lovely and having the two background stamps with the images already arranged makes for quick, no-fuss card-creating. Perfect for my usual belated realization that I need a birthday card – quick! The colors on your first card are just so lovely!

  9. All the cards you shared completely capture the emotion of joyful celebration. Any recipient would feel loved and appreciated.

  10. I love your cards and I Thank You for sharing your techniques. Especially how you stamp the shadow to help pop out your sentiments.

  11. Love all the cards. I wish I could figure out how to use my Tombows without the paper pilling – yours looks terrific

    1. Thank you Allison!! Have you tried Bristol paper? I also use very very little water and try to limit my strokes when I’m coloring direct to the paper with the marker. Maybe try some of those things. ❤️

  12. Can’t wait to get my kit so I can start making birthday cards. I will definitely be copying your balloons card. It is so bright and cheery!

  13. Truly beautiful cards, Channin, especially that gorgeous rainbow cake! I love it, altho it did make me hungry!!

  14. These are all so fabulous!! Love the bright colors and I really love that garland background you created!

  15. Great card, for kids, men or anyone! Love the extra touch with the heat embossing to add gloss and texture.

  16. Great birthday cards! The first one is my favorite with your beautiful no line coloring and who wouldn’t love a bouquet of balloons. Thanks for the inspiration!

  17. Your no line water color card is amazing – love it!. The balloons and colorful card with the lovely garland are also wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Your card is so colorful, I love it! I really enjoy seeing the creativity of the designer’s and the variety of cards made from the same kit. Thank you for your inspiration and I can’t wait to receive my kit!

Leave a comment