Waffle Flower’s July Challenge and My Copic Secret

Waffle Flower’s July Challenge and My Copic Secret

Hello everyone!! I’m so excited to share with you this card I made for Waffle Flower’s July Challenge! I made this card using the super adorable Little Mermaids set from Waffle Flower’s Summer release. I’m just in love with this set and I couldn’t wait to try it out on this challenge!

WF July

Isn’t this inspiration photo and color scheme wonderful! I thought it would be just perfect for an ocean/mermaid scene! And here’s what I came up with!

WF July 1

Okay, now I’m going to get really real with you all. I only have 24 copic markers! No typos, twenty-four, that’s all. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my copics but until I win the lottery my copic collection will just have to grow very, very slowly. (If you are curious I actually have this set, but when I got it I only paid $67.00, that’s $2.80 a marker!)

Since I don’t have a wide variety of colors I have to be a little creative when I use them. So for those adorable monkeys I stamped them twice, once on white cardstock and another time on a creamy/tan cardstock. I did this so the base color for the monkey portion of the mermaid was cream/tan and I knew that when I colored over this cream/tan paper it would darken up my tan markers (E21, E00) to the shade that I really wanted (I did use a little E37 to darken just a bit). I then colored the mermaid tails in a typical fashion using YG03, YG06, and G00. After I colored the tail sections on white cardstock and the monkey portions on the cream/tan cardstock, I fussy cut them out and then just cut off the monkey portion on the white cardstock leaving the tail to glue on the cream/tan image. I also stamped the shell and starfish on pink cardstock and used YR02, R20, and RV02 to color them. The cute little fish were just stamped on white cardstock and colored in with Y00, Y08, and YR02.

WF July 2

After I fussy cut all my images out and went around the edges with a black marker, I blended WF’s Daydreaming ink on a 5″x 7″ panel of white cardstock and glued the panel down on my card base. When the panel was completely dry, I stamped my sentiment in embossing ink and embossed it in pink. I actually created the sentiment by cutting up the “you are fintastic!” sentiment and adding “have a” and “day”. I then cut out two strips of white cardstock and mounted them on white craft foam and added them to the sides of my card. I also added foam tape to the starfish and mermaids and added them to the my card along with my little gold fishes. Lastly, I stamped some bubbles in Daydreaming around some of the images. I hope you enjoyed and were inspired to play along!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Waffle Flower’s July Challenge and My Copic Secret

Leave a Reply

