CAS-ual Fridays Challenge: Red, White, and Blue

CAS-ual Fridays Challenge: Red, White, and Blue

Hello everyone! I’m so excited to share with you today the card I made for the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge: #151! I have to admit that I’m not often jazzed about a red, white, and blue theme, but that is because I don’t normally send fourth of the July cards. But this year I have a reason too. One of my younger sisters has moved away and we won’t be able to see each other this 4th so I’ll surprise her with send her a card and maybe some other goodies.

CFC151 stamp

CFC 151

So for this card I was inspired by those Firecracker popsicles; you know the red, white, and blue ones. Can you tell? 🙂

First, I cut a star out of contact paper using my cricut. I then used the negative as a stencil. Contact paper works great as a stencil. It is not too sticky but sticky enough to stay on your paper, the cricut cuts it beautifully, and it is inexpensive!! I positioned the negative of the star on a 5″ x 7″ panel of white card stock and then blended red and blue inks over the stencil. However, I was careful to leave some white space between the red and blue. I repositioned the stencil two more times and blended my inks again.

CFC 151 2

I then stamped the small, medium, and large bursts from CAS-ual Fridays’ Exclamations set in versafine black onyx ink and embossed them in clear. I stamped them inside of my blended stars. Lastly, I stamped my sentiment (“Wowzers” isn’t it awesome) in versafine black onyx ink, embossed it in clear, and then mounted my panel onto my card base. I really like how this card turned out and I hope you enjoyed it too!  And if you haven’t already please go to the CFS challenge blog and check out the other incredible creations and why not play along with us!

Leave a Reply

