Summer Camp MFT Style

Summer Camp MFT Style

Hello everyone!! Have you seen the super fun series My Favorite Things is doing this week? It’s a crafty summer camp, with fun challenges everyday of camp, and you can even earn badges with each challenge you participate in, awesome huh!! 

As you can see I’m behind, but I hope I can make a card for all the challenges. I actually made my card for the Glitzy Glitter Challenge on Monday at the start of camp, but was just too busy to post it till today.

 I also made this card for PTI’s Create Along with Us Challenge. I love these challenges because I always find the projects created by the design team so inspiring and it’s fun to actually be encouraged to case them. I was inspired by Nichole Heady’s fabulous card. Okay enough talk here’s the card.


I don’t normally mess with around glitter and MFT’s Challenge was a good excuse it give it a go. I love the shine and texture, but honestly, as everyone already knows, glitter is a hot mess! I didn’t have many of the supplies Stephanie used in her video. I’m sure if I had it would have been a much neater and smoother sailing. 

Okay here we go. First, I cut my image using my cricut out of white card stock. In hindsight, I should have cut it out of golden yellowish cardstock instead because I had white spots where the glitter did not cover completely. After I cut the image I brushed on matte Modge Podge in sections and poured the glitter over. I  used 3 colors of glitter and attempted to make somewhat of a gradation by mixing colors together, but it don’t turn out too well. I think if I wasn’t so afraid of wasting the glitter it may have been better, downside of my frugal ways. 


After the glitter was on the image, I used some markers around the edges and also touched up where ever the glitter didn’t stick. Then I painted the whole image with more Modge Podge. While that was drying I stamped my sentiment which is from PTI (Think Big Favorites #16) on a 5″ x  7″ black card base and embossed it in gold. I then added foam tape to the backside of my image and then adhered it to my card. I hope you enjoyed and thanks for stopping by!!  

Oh and here’s my badge!! 

One thought on “Summer Camp MFT Style

  1. Its actually not as bad as you think Channin – in fact it looks superb! I love the doily itself – and the gradient glitter looks awesome!! Really love it!

Leave a Reply

