Waffle Flower Challenge and Color Throwdown

Waffle Flower Challenge and Color Throwdown

Hello! I’m here with a card for the January Waffle Flower Challenge and for the Color Throwdown Challenge #374

My brother in-law just accepted a new job and we are all so happy for him! I decided to create a congratulations card to celebrate his achievement. 

  The Waffle Flower challenge technique is stenciling. I decided to combine stenciling with the sketch of the month and the colors from the Color Throwdown challenge. 

  
 First I created the gray background by blending Soft Granite HA ink over a stencil I created using my cricut into gray cardstock. Next, I repositioned my stencil and then stamped in the same gray ink a stamp from WF’s Flower Circles set. After all that I embossed the gray panel with a Quickutz embossing folder.  I made the curve on the white panel by tracing the curve of a plate and then cut it out. I then stamped with the same WF stamp as before in HA’s Butter Bar, Orange Soda, Soft Granite, and PTI’s Aqua Mist. Lastly I stamped the sentiment from Altenew’s Magnolias for Her in Tsukinek’s Brilliance Starlite Black and again in HA’s Soft Granite to give it some dimension and help it pop. I hope you enjoyed!!

10 thoughts on “Waffle Flower Challenge and Color Throwdown

  1. What a great pattern you created for the background! So neat! Love the CAS design! Thanks so much for sharing with us at the Color Throwdown this week!

  2. Hi Channin! Just had to drop by after seeing your fab card at CTD – congratulations! LOve the card base you’ve created – I adore anything embossed, and seldom do I think to stamp on it first!! Really stunning …
    =]

  3. Glad to know I’m not the only one who uses plates for trace curved lines!! This is such a wonderful card and love the colours you used with the grey background. So very happy you shared this with us at the Waffle Flower Challenge!!!

  4. You flowers are sooo pretty and what a great idea to emboss the leaves on the cardbase and then pop up the flowers…such a awesome design!!! Thanks for joining us as the Guest Star Stamper this week!!!

Leave a Reply

