Hip Hip Hooray!!

Hip Hip Hooray!!

Hello everyone! I wanted to share a card I created for a very special guy, my nephew!! He is turning 1 (I can’t believe it) and he needed an awesome card to celebrate!  

 

First I looked through my cricut images and I found this cute hippo. I knew I wanted to make a shaker card and thought this hippo could hold a balloon and the balloon could be a shaker. I tried something new for this card, instead of using foam tape I used craft foam (you know, the colorful sheets of foam used for kids projects) to give dimension. I cut some blue craft foam in the shape of the hippo by tracing my cut hippo. I the glued the foam with craft glue to the hippo then to the card. 

 

I did the same for the balloon frame but before I glued it to the card I filled my balloon with some orange sequins and some bursts I made using a punch. I really like using the craft foam for large areas. It’s cheaper then foam tape so I feel comfortable using it more liberally and my images are better supported. I will still use foam tape for small things like sentiments. 

 

I have to show you the inside because I used my cricut to write the sentiment inside. I have also never played around with that feature before, but it worked perfectly. It will only do an outline of the font so used my white gel pen to make the sentiment pop more. I’m entering this card into the Seize The Birthday: Animals.  

 

2 thoughts on “Hip Hip Hooray!!

Leave a Reply

